Analog Switch

Rust Silk Sexy Dress

Feb 16, 2022

Dress Front

Sadly I didn’t take any pictures in progress, but over the weekend I finished an impulse project satiny dress. I was looking at dresses online, being bored, and I saw those clingy silky sexy dresses from like the 90’s. I had been feeling ugly and frumpy as I’d only been working from home for the past couple weeks, and it struck me, hey, I could actually buy one of those and wear it.

But there is always something suspicious about those sorts of simple-construction, drapey pieces that can’t accommodate a bra. If it looked terrible on me then I’d be out some annoying amount of money, but skimping out on a cheap one would increase the chances that it would look terrible on me. So, I impulsively went to JoAnn that night and bought some cheap silky rust-colored fabric and a pattern from etsy (this one) and within a couple weeks of periodic sewing I got a sexy dress that mostly works.

I had a few issues with this dress. I have large boobs and in the dress the way it came (I made a size M which was wishful thinking it turns out), my boobs literally fell out if I so much as moved my arm. I also had extreme side boob. I fixed this by adding another strap hole right in the chest area, then got some extra ties and tied off the back straps so it would cinch me in more and give support similat to a halter. Finally, I tacked down the front cowl so it kind of gave it some cup shape.

I’ll probably make this dress again. It was just so danged easy, and it used some nifty techniques that I have never done before like cutting an entire pattern on the bias and making straps. If I do it again I will 100% make a L size, at least in the chest area.

Dress Front